28th of April

Publié le 27 Avril 2021

Gospel text

(Jn 12,44-50): 

 

Jesus cried out and said, “Whoever believes in me believes not only in me but also in the one who sent me, and whoever sees me sees the one who sent me. I came into the world as light, so that everyone who believes in me might not remain in darkness. And if anyone hears my words and does not observe them, I do not condemn him, for I did not come to condemn the world but to save the world. Whoever rejects me and does not accept my words has something to judge him: the word that I spoke, it will condemn him on the last day, because I did not speak on my own, but the Father who sent me commanded me what to say and speak. And I know that his commandment is eternal life. So what I say, I say as the Father told me.”

 

The Application

 

 

Jesus helps us to discover the Father and his will. The Father's will is that, through the presence of Christ, the world should discover the true Light. By living our lives in this light, the world would no longer be in darkness.

 

This is why Jesus is sent into the world. To believe in Jesus is to believe in his Father and in His salvific plan. Since the Father dwells in Jesus and in Jesus we are called to discover the Father. If we want to discover Christ and the Father in Jesus Christ, we must listen to Jesus, welcome his Word and make this Word fruitful and life-giving. The more we put this Word into practice, the closer we come to fulfilling the will of the Father and we owe Christ to our brothers and sisters. To believe in Jesus is to become Christ. It is in becoming Christ that we live in light and discover the love of the Father.

 

Action of the day: Live in the Light.

 

Daily Quote from the Early Church Fathers:

 

Whoever sees Jesus sees the Father,

by Cyril of Alexandria, 375-444 A.D.

 

"[Our Lord] gradually accustoms their minds to penetrate the depth of the mysteries concerning himself, [leading them] not to the human person but to that which was of the divine essence. He does this inasmuch as the Godhead is apprehended completely in the person of God the Father, for he has in himself the Son and the Spirit. With exceeding wisdom he carries them onward, ... for he does not exclude himself from being believed on by us because he is God by nature and has shone forth from God the Father. But skillfully (as has been said) he handles the mind of the weak to mold them to godliness in order that you might understand him to say something like this: 'When you believe on me - I who, for your sakes, am a man like yourselves, but who also am God by reason of my own nature and because of the Father from whom I exist - do not suppose that it is on a man you are setting your faith. For I am by nature God, notwithstanding that I appear like one of yourselves, and I have within myself him who begat me. Forasmuch therefore as I am consubstantial with him that has begotten me, your faith will assuredly pass on also to the Father himself.' As we said therefore, the Lord, gradually trains them to something better and profitably interweaves the human with what is God-befitting." (excerpt from COMMENTARY ON THE GOSPEL OF JOHN 8.7)

 

Rédigé par JOHNBOSCO

Repost0
Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article